Pennington and Lymington Lanes Society (PALLS)

AGM Minutes - 5th July 2023, 6.30pm

Present: Steering Committee: Bruce Tindall, Sue Potts, Simon Potts

Nicky Tindall, Sue Balfour, Guy Carruthers, Heather Webster

Guests: Cllr Hannah Phillips and Cllr Iestyn Lewis (Lymington and Pennington Town Council)

57 PALLS Members

1 Non member

Location: Pavilion Cafe, Woodside Park, Lymington

1. Welcome

BT introduced the committee and himself and welcomed all attending.

2. Apologies

Cllr Richard Gray, Bob Hull (Committee Member)

3. Minutes of Last AGM

Proposed: Will Leech Seconded: Heather Webster

Minutes accepted unanimously.

4. Chair's Report

Proposed: George Trevelyan Seconded: Roger Neath

Accepted unanimously.

4. Treasurer's Report

Proposed: Mary Noakes Seconded: Giles Lloyd-Williams

Accepted unanimously.

5. Proposed Amendment to Constitution: to reduce the frequency of AGM's from annual to at least once every 3 years. Note: Special meetings can still be held if required.

Proposed: Paul Kennedy Seconded: Caroline Frost

The Chair (BT) informed those present that the current constitution of PALLS currently states that a special meeting may be held at any time if at least 10 members request it. He also pointed out that having an obligation to hold an annual AGM at a particular time of year may compromise PALLS' ability to commit time to issues such as planning which may occur at times out of PALLS' control. Committee Member, Sue Balfour, commented that finding a location for an AGM was not easy and the cost, if this was carried out annually, would take funds away from other activities e.g. paying for consultants or poster campaigns.

Secretary (SRP) committed to add information to the website to make sure members knew that they could call for a meeting as per terms of the constitution.

An amendment to the proposal was suggested by two members: to hold an annual AGM which could be deferred up to a maximum of three years.

Original proposal was put to a vote and was carried by a majority. Vote on amendment not required.

6. Election of Officers and Committee for 2023

	Position	Name	Proposed	Seconded	Elected?
1	Chair	Bruce Tindall	Terry Hewson	Dorothy Bishop	Yes
2	Secretary	Susan Potts	Terry Hewson	Dorothy Bishop	Yes
3	Treasurer	Simon Potts	Terry Hewson	Dorothy Bishop	Yes
4	Committee	Nicky Tindall	Terry Hewson	Dorothy Bishop	Yes
5	Committee	Bob Hull	Terry Hewson	Dorothy Bishop	Yes
6	Committee	Heather Webster	Terry Hewson	Dorothy Bishop	Yes
7	Committee	Guy Carruthers	Terry Hewson	Dorothy Bishop	Yes
8	Committee	Sue Balfour	Terry Hewson	Dorothy Bishop	Yes
9	Committee	Ť			
10	Committee				
11	Committee				
12	Committee				

All elected unanimously.

6. AOB

Q and A were taken over various aspects of the development of SS6.

A vote of thanks was given on behalf of members present for the work of the committee.

7. Close of Meeting

BT thanked all for attending. Meeting was closed at 6.45pm.

